Who We Are

Our Leadership

Catherine Timko

Executive Director

Catherine leads the Center’s nonprofit mission by directing strategies to deliver programs, raise funds, manage finances, support employees, engage community partners and develop long term strategies for sustainability.  Her vision is inspired by the many generations of children, families, and students who value and engage with the Center’s programs and classes. Her appreciation for the natural world drives a culture of continuous improvement so that first time and longtime visitors are energized by the mission.

Our Staff

Becki Anders

Preschool Specialist

Amy Armour

Preschool & Welcome Desk Specialist

Susan Ballard

Program Specialist

Angie Bendahan

Marketing & Welcome Desk Specialist

Vicky Benko

Program Specialist

Amber Buesch

Animal Programs Specialist

Annette Constantino

Program Specialist

Katy Downing

Planetarium & Program Coordinator

Dawn Galang

Preschool Specialist

Mary Haymond

Preschool Specialist

Anna Henry

Wildlife & Program Specialist

Tim Jasinski

Wildlife Rehabilitation Specialist

Jody Kennedy

Preschool Specialist

Kyle Koprowski

Lead Wildlife Specialist

Teece Lester

Preschool Coordinator

Diane Metzger

Development & Welcome Desk Specialist

Ken Miller

Exhibit & Maintenance Specialist

Carol Ormsby

Finance & Operations Coordinator

Morgan Haines

Marketing & Development Coordinator

Bill Reed

Planetarium Specialist

Molly Ruschau

Program Specialist

Mike Sandy

Facility & Maintenance Specialist

Jaylene Scarlato

Visitor Services Coordinator

Julie Schroyer

Wildlife Specialist

Andrea Schwartz

Preschool Specialist

Annmarie Slyman

Preschool Specialist

Jessica Stockdale

Welcome Desk Specialist

Maggie Watson

Animal Programs Coordinator

Justin Willard

Program Specialist

Board of Directors

John Cavalier

Board President

John was elected to the board in August of 2017. He has over six years of management consulting experience, most recently joining Cohen & Company’s management consulting group after spending six years with Deloitte Consulting. During that time, John has helped both Fortune 100 companies as well as middle market companies define their strategy, and build the appropriate business and operating model to execute that strategy. John has worked across most industries guiding his clients through transformations and simplifying complex issues. Prior to his management consulting experience, John spent time in corporate financial reporting, and FP&A with Forest City Enterprises, as well working in public accounting.

John holds an MBA from the Ohio State University Fisher College of Business, a Masters of Accounting from the College of William & Mary, and attended Elon University for undergraduate where he received a degree in Finance and accounting.

John grew up in Bay Village and has fond memories of spending countless days at the Lake Erie Nature and Science Center. He, his wife and two children are residents of Bay Village and are frequently creating new memories with their children at the Center.

Zach Stephens, Board Vice President | FGMK, LLC

Eric German, Board Treasurer | Bober Markey Fedorovich

Devin Barry, Board Secretary | Thompson Hine LLP

Bruce Cady | IBM, Retired

Phillip M. Callesen | Baker & Hostetler LLP

Dan Coil | JACK Entertainment

Joy Evans | Nordson Corporation

Lisa Fallon | Penumbra, Inc.

Bryan Gacka | Eaton

Monica Newell | KeyBank

Trudy Pauken | Immediate Past Board President | Westlake City School District, Retired

Iken Sans | The Lubrizol Corporation

Char Shryock | Char Shryock Educational Leadership Consulting, LLC

R. Scott Thomas | The Sherwin-Williams Company

Allen Waddle | Maloney + Novotny LLC

Bill Watkins | Harris Williams & Co subsidiary of PNC

Neil Whitford | Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP

Karen Huhndorff, Women’s Board President | Women’s Board of Lake Erie Nature & Science Center

Women's Board

The Women’s Board of Lake Erie Nature & Science Center supports the organization and its mission through hands-on service, community awareness, and fundraising. It offers members an opportunity to learn about natural history, meet others with similar interests, and advance the Center’s educational mission. The Women’s Board meets regularly at Lake Erie Nature & Science Center or other locations as announced. For more information, please call 440-871-2900 or email info@lensc.org.

Karen Huhndorff, Elza Phillips and Eddie Lou Bush